Monday, October 24, 2011

Everything about 12th Malaysian Jamboree

Yang di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin is scheduled to grace the 12th Malaysian Jamboree and Terengganu International Scout Jamboree 2011 at the Telaga Batin Scout Camp in Seberang Takir here on Nov 21.

Malaysian Jamboree executive secretary 1 Mohamad Sulaiman in a statement today said that Tuanku Mizan, who is Malaysian Scout Association's main patron, had also given his consent to Terengganu government to host the week-long jamboree for the second time.

Mohamad, who is also Terengganu Scout Council honorary secretary, said the Regent of Terengganu, Tengku Muhammad Ismail Sultan Mizan, would also attend the jamboree.

So far, 11,000 participants from 25 countries, including Singapore, Vietnam, Japan, Nepal, Hong Kong, Egypt, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Brunei and Sri Lanka, had showed interests and commitment to participate in the jamboree which would begin on Nov 19.

Read more: King to grace 12th Malaysian Jamboree in Terengganu on Nov 21

History of Jamborees in Malaysia

Malaysia has held many national jamborees since 1966. Each state takes turn to be the host, and only Perlis and Selangor has yet to host one. The list of the various national jamborees and the years are as follows :

* 1966 - Penang Camp Chief - Tan Sri Wong Pow Nee
* 1970 - Melaka
* 1974 - Johor
* 1978 - Sarawak
* 1982 - Kelantan
* 1986 - Pahang
* 1989 - Perak
* 1992 - Sabah
* 1997 - Terengganu
* 2002 - Kedah
* 2006 - Negeri Sembilan

I will be there...   insya Allah.

No comments:

Post a Comment